CFDA, or the Council of Fashion Designers of America, have announced their nominees for the 2009 CFDA Awards:
Good to know for small talk, fashion lovahs.

2009 Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Marc Jacobs
Narciso Rodriguez
Rodarte’s Kate and Laura Mulleavy

2009 Menswear Designer of the Year:
Calvin Klein Collection’s Italo Zucchelli
Michael Bastian
Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders

2009 Accessory Designer of the Year:
Marc Jacobs
Vera Wang
Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:
Thakoon Panichgul
Alexander Wang
Jason Wu

Swarovski Award for Menswear:
Patrick Ervell
Robert Geller
Tim Hamilton

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:
Albertus Q. Swanepoel
Alejandro Ingelmo
Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry.

International Award:
Marc Jacobs for Louis Vuitton

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:
Anna Sui

Eugenia Sheppard Award:
Women’s Wear Daily editor in chief Edward Nardoza

Eleanor Lambert Award:
Jim Moore, creative director of GQ magazine

Congrats, Marc Jacobs and Anna Sui for their respective awards (already announced)! Wait til June 15th to find out the winners of the other categories, when the awards show takes place, and First Lady Michelle Obama will be honored for her style choices and support for up-and-coming designers!



Post a Comment

%d bloggers like this: